top of page

CUARTETO LUNARES

Tapa.jpg

Passionate about Argentine Tango in its finest and most authentic expressions, Cuarteto Lunares was founded in 2010, driven by the desire to champion a contemporary repertoire of considerable richness. This unique ensemble - violin, cello, bandoneon, double bass - highlights a hybrid formation between chamber music and popular music that defines the group's sound identity.

Their debut album "A Horas Truncas," featuring adaptations by violinist Aurélie Gallois, crystallizes their musical trajectory, mindful of respecting the genre's codes while embracing a distinctly modern language. This first release earned them an invitation to the prestigious program "Génération jeunes interprètes" on France Musique, tours in the Netherlands and Argentina, as well as numerous concerts and festivals in France (Musiques en Vercors, Tarbes festival…).

Today, tango is experiencing a true renaissance in Argentina and Europe; a multitude of composers and arrangers are seeking new paths for this genre that had fallen into obscurity until the early 2000s. Cuarteto Lunares naturally joins this broad movement by evolving its repertoire, working closely with composers engaged in this renewal and spreading Argentine music.

 

As witnesses and interpreters of this creative surge, the Quartet's repertoire is influenced by a plethora of inspirations: the language of Astor Piazzolla and his indispensable virtuosity, candombe and milonga echoing the African origins of the style, chacarera and zamba transporting listeners to northern Argentina, as well as classical music, jazz, and contemporary music. All these facets find their unity in the ensemble's unique sound.

PRESS

France Musique 

Géneration jeunes interprètes

Live Concert on France Musique. Interview with Carmela Delgado.

Saturday, March 4, 2017, hosted by Gaëlle Le Gallic.

ALBUM  A HORAS TRUNCAS

2016

A horas truncas LD.jpg
img_header_logo.jpg

This album stems from the foundational approach of the Cuarteto: the discovery and dissemination of the repertoire of the new wave of Argentine tango. Since its inception, the Cuarteto has been performing the works of the most significant contemporary Argentine composers, aiming to render the essence of these compositions through an ensemble formation that had never been explored before. This exciting challenge led Aurélie Gallois to orchestrate the entirety of the repertoire, thus creating the distinct sound of the group. It's the fusion of current repertoire, an ensemble with a unique timbre, coupled with the free and committed interpretation of each musician that shapes the aesthetic signature of Lunares. Enthusiastic about the cultural exchanges engendered by such a project, the Cuarteto engages in a dynamic of valuable musical sharing between two countries united by tango. Throughout your listening experience, you'll encounter the roots of the genre as well as the diverse influences that contribute to the richness of contemporary tango: Piazzolla, Jazz, Classical, Candombe... This album immerses you in an expressive genre that is expanding and firmly innovative.

Recording and Editing: Caspar Falke

Mixing and Mastering: Juanjo Mosalini

Recording Director: Mathias Naon

Recorded in June 2015 at Théâtre DRU, Cultuurfabriek Ulft.

Silvox Records/www.silvox.nl

Label: Ruta Records

Photos: Elsa Broclain

Graphic Design: Philomène Longchamp

Listen

  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône
  • Noir Icône iTunes
  • Noir Icône Deezer

Order

  • Noir Amazon Icône
  • fnac1_edited
  • https://music.apple.com/us/album/a-horas-truncas/1165427592
  • download_edited

PROGRAM

Rebound Lunares - Leonardo Teruggi

Astornudando - Leonardo Teruggi 

Agosto - Martin Sued

Bulanguera - Sonia Posetti 

in lunares - Leonardo Teruggi 

Líquido 3 - Diego Schissi

Tu pálida voz - Charlo / Arr. : Mathias Naon

Danzas Argentinas - Alberto Ginastera /  Arr: Chloë Pfeiffer 

Coral - Astor Piazzolla 

En penumbras -  Leopoldo Federico 

Primero - Gerardo Di Giusto

Milonga para Luis - Juanjo Mosalini

(Program provided as an indicative guide and subject to change)

bottom of page

top of page

CUARTETO LUNARES

Tapa.jpg

Passionné par le Tango argentin dans ses expressions les plus fines et les plus authentiques, le Cuarteto Lunares se fonde en 2010, poussé par l'envie de défendre un répertoire actuel d’une richesse considérable. Cet ensemble inédit - Violon violoncelle bandonéon contrebasse - met en lumière une formation hybride entre musique de chambre et musique populaire qui scelle l’identité sonore du groupe.

 

Leur premier album "A Horas Truncas" dont les adaptations sont signées par la violoniste Aurélie Gallois, cristallise leur trajectoire musicale soucieuse de respecter les codes du genre tout en s'inscrivant dans un langage résolument moderne. Ce premier opus leur vaut une invitation dans la prestigieuse émission "Génération jeunes interprètes" sur France Musique, des tournées aux Pays Bas et en Argentine ainsi que de nombreux concerts et festivals en France. (Musiques en Vercors, festival de Tarbes…)

 

Aujourd'hui le tango connaît une véritable renaissance en Argentine et en Europe ; une multitude de compositeurs et d’arrangeurs s’attellent à chercher de nouvelles voies à ce genre tombé en désuétude jusqu'au début des années 2000. Le Cuarteto Lunares s'inscrit naturellement dans ce vaste mouvement par l'évolution qu'il donne à son répertoire en travaillant au contact des compositeurs engagés dans ce renouveau et la diffusion des musiques argentines.

 

Etant témoin et interprète de cet essor créatif, on trouve dans le répertoire du Quartet une foule d’influences et d’inspirations: le langage d'Astor piazzolla et sa virtuosité incontournable, le candombe et la milonga qui rappellent les origines africaines du style, la chacarera et la zamba qui font voyager dans le nord de l’Argentine mais aussi la musique classique le jazz et la musique contemporaine. Autant de facettes qui trouvent leur unité dans le son unique de l’ensemble.

PRESSE

France Musique 

Géneration jeunes interprètes

Concert en direct en en public. Interview de Carmela Delgado. 

Samedi 4 mars 2017, par Gaëlle Le Gallic

ALBUM  A HORAS TRUNCAS

2016

A horas truncas LD.jpg
img_header_logo.jpg

Cet album naît de la démarche fondatrice du Cuarteto : la découverte et la diffusion du répertoire de la nouvelle vague du tango argentin.  Depuis sa création, le Cuarteto interprète les œuvres des plus importants compositeurs argentins de l'époque actuelle, pour en restituer la matière à travers une formation encore jamais exploitée. Un défi passionnant qui conduit Aurélie Gallois à orchestrer l'ensemble du répertoire, créant ainsi la sonorité unique du groupe. C'est cette alliance d'un répertoire actuel, un ensemble au timbre inédit, auquel s'ajoute l'interprétation libre et engagée de chaque musicien qui crée la signature esthétique de Lunares. Enthousiasmé par les échanges culturels que génère un tel projet, le Cuarteto s'inscrit dans une dynamique de précieux partages musicaux entre deux pays habités par le tango. Au cours de votre écoute, vous retrouverez les racines du genre mais aussi les multiples influences qui font la richesse du tango actuel : Piazzolla, Jazz, Classique, Candombe… Cet album est une immersion dans un genre expressif en pleine expansion et résolument innovant.

Prise de son et montage: Caspar Falke

Mixage et Mastering: Juanjo Mosalini

Directeur d'enregistrement: Mathias Naon

Enregistré en juin 2015 au Théâtre DRU,Cultuurfabriek Ulft.

Silvox Records/www.silvox.nl

Label: Ruta Records

Photos:Elsa Broclain

Graphisme:Philomène Longchamp

Écouter

  • Noir Icône YouTube
  • Spotify noir Icône
  • Noir Icône iTunes
  • Noir Icône Deezer

Acheter

  • Noir Amazon Icône
  • fnac1_edited
  • https://music.apple.com/us/album/a-horas-truncas/1165427592
  • download_edited

PROGRAMME

Rebound Lunares - Leonardo Teruggi

Astornudando - Leonardo Teruggi 

Agosto - Martin Sued

Bulanguera - Sonia Posetti 

in lunares - Leonardo Teruggi 

Líquido 3 - Diego Schissi

Tu pálida voz - Charlo / Arr. : Mathias Naon

Danzas Argentinas - Alberto Ginastera /  Arr: Chloë Pfeiffer 

Coral - Astor Piazzolla 

En penumbras -  Leopoldo Federico 

Primero - Gerardo Di Giusto

Milonga para Luis - Juanjo Mosalini

(Programme fourni à titre indicatif et susceptible d'être modifié)

bottom of page